"Tourist card" for foreign travelers may be launched in Russia in early 2024.

Foreigners can make a virtual card in their own country and receive a plastic one at the airport upon arrival, if they want.

This summer the Russian authorities adopted a law that allows Russian banks to open accounts for foreign individuals and legal entities without their personal presence. A foreign tourist will be able to book a tour using an electronic card and to pay for services and make purchases upon arrival in Russia.

This measure will solve the problems foreign tourists faced in Russia due to the fact that Visa and MasterCard payment sistems do not work in this country.

The list of countries whose citizens will be able to open accounts in Russian banks (25 states): Bahrain, Brazil, India, Qatar, China, Kuwait, Malaysia, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, Turkey, Azerbaijan, Algeria, Armenia, Belarus, Egypt, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.